General Settings for Groups

General Settings for Groups

Display groups are a helpful way of separating people by location, department, and/or title at your company. Display group settings allow you to track hours for different groups of users and customize settings. If you're new to display groups, then we recommend you review our overview of display groups Knowledge Base article to understand how display groups work and how you can utilize them.

This article will highlight the options available to you for display groups in the Settings tab including the different interfaces, options to assign shifts to groups of users and more. It is important to understand that display group settings are made at a group level. If you have multiple groups ensure you select the correct one in the left column before changing any settings.

To access display group settings:
  1. Select Turn Administration On from the File menu.
  2. Select Display Groups from the Configure menu. Choose the group you want to edit permissions for in the left column.
  3. Select the Settings tab if it is not already highlighted. 
  4. After making any changes ensure you select Apply to save the changes. 
Virtual TimeClock Groups Settings

Group Interface
There are several display options for viewing the time clock, which are called interfaces. In the Interface popup menu you will see the options available to choose from. Interfaces are set at a group level, and can be customized for each of your display groups. For more information about time clock interfaces, review our interface options Knowledge Base article.

Require Passwords
Passwords are required for all interfaces except the In & Out Board. For the In & Out Board administrators can decide if they want to require user passwords or not by checking or unchecking the box for Require User Passwords. We recommend requiring passwords to keep your time clock secure.

Break & Lunches
Some companies do not want workers to clock out for breaks or lunches. By default both the Breaks and Lunch buttons are available to users. If you do not want your users to clock out for breaks or lunches, uncheck the Show ‘Break’ button and/or Show ‘Lunch’ button. Select Apply to save the change.

Timecard Entry Notes
Timecard entry notes are enabled by default for users to add from their User Status window. Timecard entry notes allow employees to enter a note, which will appear on their timecard. For example, the worker can write things they did during their shift, enter tips or mileage or any other relevant comments. 

Missed Stop Error
This setting will flag entries for users who are clocked in for longer than the threshold set by an administrator. The default is 12 hours, but it can be raised or lowered to fit your business needs. Change the setting in the Options section by entering a different number in the box and selecting Apply. The feature can be disabled by unchecking the box. Learn more about the Enforced Missed Stop setting and how to correct the timecard entries >

Note: Disabling the feature does not remove errors that have already occurred. You still must correct the timecard entries that are flagged. 

Time of Day Shift Rules
Shifts can be assigned to groups of users instead of assigning shifts individually in Virtual TimeClock in the Time of Day Shift Rules section. Display groups can have up to three unique shifts assigned to them, which can overlap, but the starting times must be at least four hours apart. If you have multiple shifts assigned to a group, the correct shift will apply to a user based on the time of day the user starts their shift.
 

If you're new to the shift feature, review our overview of shifts in Virtual TimeClock and how to create a shift Knowledge Base article.

Note: Individual user schedules with shift assignments will override group shift rules, so you need to remove any user schedules in the Configure Schedules window.