2024 Business Holidays In The U.S.A.

U.S. Business Holidays Calendar​​

An easy reference calendar of common business holidays in the U.S.

New Year's Day January 1 Tuesday
Memorial Day May 27 Monday
Independence Day July 4 Thursday
Labor Day September 2 Monday
Thanksgiving Day November 28 Thursday
Friday after Thanksgiving November 29 Friday
Christmas Day December 25 Wednesday
New Year's Day January 1 Wednesday
Memorial Day May 25 Monday
Independence Day July 3* Friday
Labor Day September 7 Monday
Thanksgiving Day November 26 Thursday
Friday after Thanksgiving November 27 Friday
Christmas Day December 25 Friday
New Year's Day January 1 Friday
Memorial Day May 31 Monday
Independence Day July 5* Monday
Labor Day September 6 Monday
Thanksgiving Day November 25 Thursday
Friday after Thanksgiving November 26 Friday
Christmas Day December 24* Friday
New Year's Day January 1* Friday
Memorial Day May 30 Monday
Independence Day July 4 Monday
Labor Day September 5 Monday
Thanksgiving Day November 24 Thursday
Friday after Thanksgiving November 25 Friday
Christmas Day December 26* Monday
New Year's Day January 2* Monday
Memorial Day May 29 Monday
Independence Day July 4 Tuesday
Labor Day September 4 Monday
Thanksgiving Day November 23 Thursday
Friday after Thanksgiving November 24 Friday
Christmas Day December 25 Monday
New Year's Day January 1 Monday
Memorial Day May 27 Monday
Independence Day July 4 Thursday
Labor Day September 2 Monday
Thanksgiving Day November 28 Thursday
Friday after Thanksgiving November 29 Friday
Christmas Day December 25 Wednesday
New Year's Day January 1 Wednesday
Memorial Day May 26 Monday
Independence Day July 4 Friday
Labor Day September 1 Monday
Thanksgiving Day November 27 Thursday
Friday after Thanksgiving November 28 Friday
Christmas Day December 25 Thursday

While businesses in the United States are not legally required to observe national, state, or religious holidays, the vast majority of U.S. businesses observe the following seven holidays, usually following the federal holiday calendar.

* When a legal public holiday falls on a Saturday, it is usually observed on the preceding Friday for pay and leave purposes. When the holiday falls on a Sunday, it is usually observed on the following Monday for pay and leave purposes.

More Information about U.S. Business Holidays

Some employers in the U.S. create additional employee holidays, such as a floating holiday or the employee’s birthday. They may also observe one or more of the following holidays based on industry, custom, or tradition: New Year’s Eve, Presidents Day, Easter, Columbus Day, Christmas Eve.

Redcort Software Inc. assumes no liability and makes no warranties on or for the information contained on these pages. The information presented is intended for reference only and is neither tax nor legal advice. Consult a professional tax, legal or other advisor to verify this information and determine if and/or how it may apply to your particular situation.