Assigning Activities to Groups

Assigning Activities to Groups

The activity feature in Virtual TimeClock gives you the ability to create any number of activities, allowing your workers to select a unique activity name, job number, or location for all TimeClock entries recorded throughout a shift. This allows employers to easily track labor costs for specific tasks, job, client, or business unit at the same time workers are recording their employee timecard hours. If you're new to the topic of activities, see our overview of activity tracking article.

Note: Before assigning an activity to a group, you must first create your activities.

When a new activity is created, it is automatically assigned to all display groups. Follow these steps to assign specific activities to your display groups:

  1. Select Turn Administration On from the File menu.
  2. Select Display Groups from the Configure menu.
  3. Select your Display Group and click the Activities tab to view current activities.
  4. To make modify activities, click the Select Activities button.
Virtual TimeClock Configure Activities
  • The activities listed in the TimeClock Activities column will be available to users when they clock in and add manual entries. A popup menu will display for users to select an activity from when they clock in. Please note that when an activity is available for users when clocking in, then it is also available when adding manual entries. The activities in the Manual Activities column are used exclusively for entering manual entries.
  • Choose the default time clock activity by clicking the popup menu and selecting an activity. The default is ‘In’, but any TimeClock activity can be made the default. The default activity is used to simplify the clocking in experience for users. If users of a display group almost exclusively use an activity we recommend making it the default, so it is chosen by default when they clock in.
  • If only one activity is selected with a checkmark in the TimeClock activities column then it will be the default for users clocking in because an activity must be used to track hours.
  1. Click Save Changes and return to the Activities tab of the Configure Display Groups window.
  2. If you wish to allow users to add activities, check the box for Users can add new activities. Allowing users to add activities is helpful tracking jobs or cases that occur regularly and dynamically. You can make the activities inactive when they are no longer used.

Note: If multiple activities are added by mistake, you can reassign a different activity to the entry, so the activity added by mistake can be deleted. You must reassign a different activity to timecard entries because an activity cannot be deleted if it is assigned to a timecard entry.

  1. With activities successfully assigned to users, your employees can start tracking their time with activities. Learn more about how employees can clock in using activities >

Manage Activities
The following guidelines will help ensure consistent and accurate activity tracking in Virtual TimeClock:

  1. Explain the importance and proper use of activities to your TimeClock users. It often takes practice for employees to get in the habit of using activities correctly. It often takes a bit of encouragement and consistent correction from management to accurately track activity time.
  2. Make activities that are no longer in use inactive. Activities that are made inactive are removed and unavailable to users. Don't worry, making activities inactive does not remove the time clock data. To simplify the list of activities in the Configure Activities window, follow these steps to only view active activities: 
    1. Select Turn Administration On from the File menu.
    2. Select Activities from the Configure menu.
    3. In the bottom left corner select the All button and click Show Active. 
    4. To see all activities click Active and click Show All.
  3. Ensure that new activities are added and/or limited to the correct display groups.
    1. Select Turn Administration On from the File menu.
    2. Select Activities from the Configure menu.
    3. Click Edit Group Activities in the right column.
    4. Make any necessary changes by selecting the Display Group in the left column and clicking Select Activities.