Removing Users

Removing Users

From time to time you may need to remove workers from the time clock, so it is important to understand your options in Virtual TimeClock. This article will explain the difference between deleting a user and making them inactive, as well as how to reactivate a user to access the time clock again.

Note: To learn more about user statuses, review the Overview of Users, Managers and Administrators.

Deleting vs Inactivating Users
Deleting a user means permanently removing all of their historical timecard records from Virtual TimeClock. Once a user is deleted, their data and information cannot be recovered and the user cannot be reactivated to use the time clock again. It is important to use caution when deleting users and consider making a user Inactive instead of deleting them.
Virtual TimeClock Delete Users
An Inactive user is someone who no longer uses the TimeClock and won't be displayed in your groups and reports. Maintaining inactive users allows administrators immediate access to all historical employee timecard information should a question about their time and attendance arise at any later date. Additionally, a TimeClock administrator can quickly and easily reactivate an inactive user to allow them access to the time clock again. 

Making a User Inactive

Setting a user's status to inactive will remove them from any display group and prevent them from using the time clock.

  1. Select Turn Administration On from the File menu.
  2. Select Users from the Configure menu.
  3. Click the user in the list on the left of the Configure Users window.
Note: If you do not see a user's name when looking by last name click Active Users in the bottom left corner and select Show All Users.
 
  1. In the Access tab change the status of a user by clicking the Status popup menu and choosing Inactive.
  2. Enter the user’s last day of employment.
  3. Click Apply to save the changes.  

Running Timecards & Reports for Inactive Users
When a user is made inactive, all of their timecard entries, leave awards, and overtime hours are easily accessible by an administrator.
 
Basic Edition
To view a timecard for an inactive user in Virtual TimeClock Basic edition you must reactivate the user. To reactivate the user:
  1. Select Turn Administration On from the File menu.
  2. Select Users from the Configure menu.
  3. Change the status of a worker from Inactive to User.
  4. Run timecards or reports as you would for any user and then return user to Inactive.
Note: The Basic edition is limited to 3 users and an administrator. If you have reached your limit of users, you can upgrade to the Pro edition. The Pro edition has additional features and allows for an unlimited number of users. Request a discount code if you are interested in upgrading to the Pro edition.  
 
Pro & Network Editions
In Pro and Network editions, an administrator can easily view a report for an inactive user by following these steps:
  1. Select Turn Administration On from the File Menu.
  2. You must login as an administrator (rather than a manager). Only administrators can run reports for inactive users.
  3. Select Inactive Users from the popup menu in the bottom right hand corner of the In/Out Board Administration window. 
  4. Select your report of choice from the Reports program menu.
  5. Click the People & Dates icon in the Report window toolbar to choose the inactive worker(s) and date range desired for your custom report.
  6. Change the display group back to the desired group from step 3.
 
Reactivating Inactive Users

Users who have been deleted cannot be reactivated. You can reactivate an Inactive user at any time to grant them access to the TimeClock again. This is done by simply changing their status from Inactive to the desired status and then assigning them to one or more display groups.

To reactivate an inactive user follow the steps in How to Make a User Inactive above, but change the status to User, Manager, or Administrator and then choose Edit in the Display Group Member section to add the user to one or more groups.

Note: If a user's status is set to manager, assign the user to the correct display group(s) they are to manage by clicking Edit in the Groups Managed section.