Tips & Tricks

Virtual TimeClock Tips & Tricks - August 2011

Even though summer is quickly on it’s way out, I hope everyone is able to squeeze the most that they can out of what’s remaining. I know I am. Employees can be a lot like the seasons, they come and go on a fairly regular basis. I’ll spare you the analogy of how employee personalities are like the seasons. Let’s just say some are warm while others are cool.

When an employee leaves, there are a number of things you’ll do to close out their employee file. You’ll want to add Virtual TimeClock to your employee exit checklist as well. So in this month’s newsletter, I want to show you several options for dealing with Virtual TimeClock users that are no longer using the time clock or have left your organization.

Remove them from any display groups they belong to.
This option is used primarily for administrative users who don’t need to have their name listed in the main time clock window because they don’t use the time clock to punch in and out. Remember, display groups control what worker names are listed on each time clock, so removing a user from a display group will remove their name from the time clock worker list, but they'll still appear in all timecard report selection lists. If you need help setting up display groups, check out our FAQs.

Go to the Lists menu and choose Users. Select the user and click the Access tab. In the Display Group Membership pane, you can choose what display groups the user belongs to.

Here’s a quick Tip:
You must belong to a display group in order to send or receive messages from others in the group, even if you’re a time clock administrator.

Make the user inactive or terminated.
This option is sometimes overlooked as an alternative to deleting a user that’s no longer employed. Instead of deleting a user, you can change their status to ‘Inactive’ or ‘Terminated.’ They both accomplish the same thing, the only difference is that one allows you to enter a termination date. Making a user inactive will automatically remove them from any display groups they belong to and remove them from all timecard report selection lists. The great thing about making a user inactive is that their old timecards are still available. All you have to do is select the option to include inactive workers when printing timecards. This is really the best option for handling users that are no longer employed. It’s also a great way to handle seasonal workers that’ll likely be back in the future.

Go to the Lists menu and choose Users. Select the user and click the Employment tab. In the Status section, mark the user as inactive or terminated.

Here’s a quick Tip:
To view timecard hours for inactive or terminated employees, check the Show Inactive checkbox below the list of workers in the report selection window. This will include their names in the list of workers.

Delete the user.
This should be your last resort. All of their timecards, leave awards, and messages are completely and permanently removed. If you’ve decided that deleting the user record is the right decision, then print a hard copy of their timecards. Deleting a user is irreversible, so use it with care.

Go to the Lists menu and choose Users. Select the user and click the - button.

Here’s a quick Tip:
Keeping timecard history for inactive users won’t impact the speed at which timecards are generated for current users. Plus, the Virtual TimeClock SQL database is so compact and fast that there’s really no need to purge old data.

Until next month,

Jeff Morrow