Sharing a Single Administrator Account
Track changes made to timecards
Virtual TimeClock audit logs automatically track changes made to timecards by administrators. If all administrators share a single admin account, you will not know who made changes to employee timecards because all changes will be under the same admin account. In the image below, you can see that Jim Woodworth modified a user timecard. If the administrator account were "TimeClock Admin" instead, it would be impossible to know who made the modification.
Tracking down timecard modifications can be very important for reviewing timecard issues and providing management accountability. For more information, review the Program Logs Knowledge Base article.
Simplify time clock management
Sharing a single time clock administrator account means distributing a password to several people. If an employee is removed from a management position, the time clock admin password must then be changed and then redistributed to administrators. Not only that, but sharing a password between several people increases the chances that the password is compromised. Instead of a single administrator account and password, assign administrator privileges on a per-user basis, that way if someone is removed from administrating the time clock you can simply change their user status.
We recommend assigning particular people with administrator access and privileges. This is done by changing a person's time clock status to either Manager or Administrator. Learn more about the best practices for assigning administrators and managers by reading the Overview of Users, Managers & Administrators article.