Company Blog


State Minimum Wage Changes for 2020

December 9, 2019

Nearly half the states in the U.S. will see an increase to the statewide minimum wage in 2020. Increases range from just 10 cents an hour all the way to an extra $1.50/hr depending on the state. The chart below shows the minimum wage as of 2019 and the updated wage for the 21 states that will increase the minimum hourly rate for employees in 2020.

For additional information about when increases go into effect and to learn about future enacted increases, see our free Minimum Wage Laws resource.

State20192020
Alaska$9.89$10.19
Arizona$11.00$12.00
Arkansas$9.25$10.00
California$11.00 (small employer) / $12.00 (large employer)*$12.00 (small employer) / $13.00 (large employer)*
Colorado$11.10$12.00
Florida$8.46$8.56
Illinois$8.25$9.25
Maine$11.00$12.00
Maryland$10.10$11.00
Massachusetts$12.00$12.75
Michigan$9.45$9.65
Minnesota$8.04 (small employer)/$9.86 (large employer)*$8.15 (small employer)/$10.00 (large employer)*
Missouri$8.60$9.45
Montana$8.50$8.65
New Jersey$8.85 (small employer)/$10.00*$10.30 (small employer)/$11.00*
New Mexico$7.50$9.00
New York$11.10$11.80
Ohio$8.55 (large employer)*$8.70 (large employer)*
South Dakota$9.10$9.30
Vermont$10.78$10.96
Washington$12.00$13.50

*California: A 'large' employer has 26 or more employees. A 'small' employer has 25 or fewer employees.
*Minnesota: A 'large' employer has gross annual sales of $500,000 or more. A 'small' employer has gross annual sales less than $500,000.
*New Jersey: A 'small' employer has fewer than 6 employees.
*Ohio: A 'large' employer has gross annual sales of $319,000 or more. A 'small' employer has gross annual sales less than $319,000 and follows the federal minimum wage of $7.25/hr.

The above data represents the current information available from the National Conference of State Legislatures. This information is provided for reference only and is not meant to take the place of legal council from a professional.

Scroll to Top