Overview of Users, Managers & Administrators

Overview of Users, Managers & Administrators

Every user in Virtual TimeClock is assigned a Status: administrator, manager, user or inactive. This article provides an overview of what each status means, how they work, and how to assign a status.

Virtual TimeClock Users
The status of User is for workers who only use the time clock to track their time and attendance. Users have no administrative access.  User permissions are determined by the Display Group(s) the User is assigned. Learn more about setting user permissions >

Virtual TimeClock Managers
The status of Manager allows this person to perform supervisory tasks like editing timecards, printing a group of timecards, and/or approving timecards for payroll. A manager can be both a member and a manger of a Display Group. Manger permissions are determined by the Display Group(s) the Manger is assigned. Learn more about Managers and permissions >
 
Virtual TimeClock Administrators
The status of Administrator provides unlimited access to all Virtual TimeClock settings and features. While at least one person must be assigned a program Administrator, you can assign any number of people with the status of Administrator. Administrative access should be granted cautiously since administrators have access to the entire program and sensitive employee information.
 
Note: Virtual TimeClock Pro and Network edition administrators can track their time as well as be an administrator.
 
Inactive Employees
The status of Inactive is for any user you no longer want to have any access to Virtual TimeClock. Making a user inactive removes them from display groups and reports, but retains all historical timeclock data. Learn more about inactive users in our article on Inactivating Users in Virtual TimeClock.
 
Important: Make former employees Inactive rather than deleting them to preserve their historical data. Deleting a user permanently removes all of their employment and timecard information and cannot be undone.

Changing Status
To change a user's status:
  1. Select Turn Administration On from the File menu and enter your administrator password.
  2. Select Users from the Configure menu to open the Configure Users window.
  3. Select a user by clicking on their name from the list of users.
  4. In the Status area, click the popup menu and select a new status for the user.
Note: Workers with the status of manager or administrator must have a password assigned to them so they can access administration mode. Depending on the interface, users may or may not need a password to use the time clock.
Virtual TimeClock User Status