2019 State Minimum Wage Changes
2019 is almost here and with the new year comes new labor laws, including quite a few changes to state minimum wage laws. In total, 21 states in the US will be increasing minimum wage in the new year. The following list is a summary of the coming minimum wage changes by state, effective January 1, 2019 unless otherwise noted:
|State||New Minimum Wage|
|District of Columbia||$14.00|
|New York||$11.10 (effective 12/31/2018)|
|Oregon||$11.25 (effective 7/1/2019)|
1 In California, employers with 26 or more employees have a minimum wage of $12.00. Employers with 25 or fewer employees have a minimum wage of $11.00.
2 In Minnesota, employers with annual sales over $500,000 have a minimum wage of $9.86. Employers with less than $500,000 have a minimum wage of $8.04.
3 Listed rate is for employers grossing more than $314,000 a year. Employers grossing less than $314,000 follow the Federal Minimum Wage.
For more information about For a complete list of state minimum wage laws, visit our Federal & State Minimum Wage Laws resource page. Looking for a employee time clock app to track hourly employee time for payroll? Virtual TimeClock is the original time clock application for Windows and macOS computers. Find out more about our software on the Virtual TimeClock overview page.
The information presented in this blog is intended for reference only and is neither tax nor legal advice. Consult a professional tax, legal or other advisor to verify this information and determine if and/or how it may apply to your particular situation. US Department of Labor Minimum Wages