Reactivating Users

Reactivating Users

When employees are no longer using Virtual TimeClock, they can easily be made inactive to remove their name from display lists and prevent time clock access. Occassionally an inactive worker needs to be reactivated. Common reasons to reactivate an employee include seasonal workers, a rehired employee, or a worker returning from extended leave.

This article will show you how to easily reactivate a worker and important considerations when reactivating a user.
 
To reactivate a user and give them access to Virtual TimeClock:
  1. Select Turn Administration On from the File menu.
  2. Select Users from the Configure menu.
  3. Select the user in the list on the left of the Configure Users window.
  4. In the Access tab change the status of a worker by selecting the Status popup menu and choosing User, Manager, or Administrator.
  5. Select Edit in the Display Group Member section and add the user to one or more groups. 
  6. If set to Manager, click Edit in the Groups Managed list to make them a manager of one or more groups.
  7. Select Apply to save the changes. 
  • Tip: Inactive users are displayed when the button in the bottom left of the Users list displays All Users.
 
After reactivating a user, review the following:
  • Verify that the reactivated user knows their password. Assign a new password by clicking the Modify button in the Password section of the User record.
  • Ensure the worker, wage, status, overtime, department and any auto deduction is correct in the Employment tab.
  • Review the worker address, phone, email, and emergency contact information to ensure that it is up-to-date.
  • Use the Notes tab to note the reactivation date, reason, and any changes made to the user record.