Assigning Shifts to Users

Assigning Shifts to Users

Shifts can be assigned to individuals or groups of users depending on your business needs. Continue reading to learn about the flexibility Virtual TimeClock provides when it comes to assigning shifts to users. Before assigning shifts to individuals or groups, you must first create your shift(s).

Assign a Shift to an Individual User 
Assigning shifts to individual users by day of the week is done in the Configure Schedules window. This feature is best used for employees who work static schedules that change infrequently. To make changes to a user’s schedule follow the steps below:

  1. Select Turn Administration On from the File menu.
  2. Select Schedules from the Configure menu.
  3. Choose an employee in the left column and assign a shift for each day of the week. “Unscheduled” will automatically be assigned to each day without a shift assignment. Employees will be restricted from clocking in outside their assigned shift and day, so make sure the shifts are assigned to each day of the week a user would need to clock in.
Note: If you have multiple worker shifts, we recommend using the group based shift feature. Continue reading below for more information.
Virtual TimeClock Configure Schedules

Assign a Shift to a Group of Users
The other way to assign shifts is by groups of users. When shifts are assigned to groups of users, the shift rules will be applied based on the time of day a user starts their shift. Access this setting in the Configure Display Groups window. This feature is intended for businesses that have fixed shifts (e.g. Days, Swings, Nights) and have employees who often work different shifts.

  1. Select Turn Administration On from the File menu. 
  2. Select Display Groups from the Configure menu. 
  3. Select the desired shift(s) in the Time of Day Shift Rules section.
Virtual TimeClock Display Groups Shift Rules
  1. If more than one shift is assigned, rules take effect 1 hour before the shift start time. 
Note: Shifts may overlap, but the shift start times must be separated by at least 4 hours.
 
  1. Click Apply to save the changes.
Note: Individual user shift assignments in the Configure Shifts window will always override group shift assignments, so remove individual shift assignments if you want group shift assignments applied to a user. 
 
  1. Ensure users are assigned to the correct display group as the intended shifts by going to the Users tab of the Configure Display Groups window. Click Select and choose users to include in the group.
  2. After shifts have been assigned to users individually or to a group of users, you can move on to learn about reporting shift information.