Editing timecard entries is a very important feature in Virtual TimeClock. Occasionally an employee may accidentally punch in late, forget to punch out for their lunch break or any number of similar situations. This article will walk you through how to edit existing timecard entries and how to delete an entry.
Note: For information about Adding Manual Entries to Timecards review this Knowledge Base article.
How to Edit Entries
There are two primary ways to edit an entry. You can choose to edit an employee's current time clock entry, or use the Entry Editor to edit an entry from a prior day. To edit an entry in a closed period, you will first need to reopen the payroll period.
Note: If you do not have the editing options shown below after logging into administration mode, you are a Manager and will need additional manager permissions to edit entries.
Editing a Current Entry
Editing a Prior Timecard Entry
Important Note: If you are editing the start time of a lunch or break, make sure to edit the Start time of the lunch/break as well as the Stop time of the previous entry. When editing the Stop time of a lunch or break, edit the Start time of the following entry as well.
Editing Missed Stop Entries
Timecard entries in the Entry Editor that are marked in red are being flagged because a user forgot to clock out the last time they worked. When users forget to clock out, the next time they use the time clock they will enter their estimated stop time from the previous day. Managers and administrators can view the estimated time the user left and correct the entry before the period is closed.
Note: Follow the steps in our Missed Clock Out Errors Knowledge Base article to correct a missed stop error.
Deleting a Timecard Entry
When a timecard entry is deleted, it cannot be recovered, so exercise caution when removing entries.