Company Blog

July 2015 Holidays

Canada Day, formerly known as Dominion Day, is a federal statutory holiday celebrated in Canada on July 1st each year. Canada Day commemorates the enactment of the British North America Act of 1867 (later called the Constitution Act) which joined Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and the Provinces of Canada into one dominion under Great Britain. While the British Parliament continued to hold varying amounts of control over the political affairs of Canada, the governance by that body was severed in 1982 upon the Constitution of Canada being patriated into the Constitution Act, officially transferring power to Canada's federal and provincial legislatures. Today, Canada is an independent country and member of the Commonwealth of Nations.

Independence Day is a federal holiday celebrated in the United States on July 4th each year. This day commemorates the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776, by the original thirteen American colonies from the British Empire. The colonies had been at war with Britain for over a year and the Declaration was a formal explanation of why the colonies were no longer recognizing British rule and were forming a new nation. The new nation was governed by the Articles of Confederation until the United States Constitution was ratified in 1788.

Since Independence Day falls on a Saturday in 2015, many businesses and government offices will observe the holiday by closing on the preceding Friday, July 3. However, federal reserve banks and post offices will still be open the preceding Friday. Here's a calendar of when the remaining 2015 federal holidays are celebrated.