Technical Support Blog

Upgrading Basic or Pro to Network Edition

Growth is always a good thing, especially when your business is expanding. Fortunately, your Virtual TimeClock software has been designed to scale with the growth of your business. If you started out with one of the stand alone time clock solutions like Basic or Pro Edition and your time and attendance needs are expanding, we've made it easy to migrate to the Network Edition. All of your Basic and Pro Edition time clock data will be available after upgrading so you won't miss a beat when processing payroll.

Since most businesses make their current stand alone time clock one of the new time clock clients, you'll want to make a backup of your time clock database before uninstalling your current version of Basic or Pro Edition. This backup can then be used to restore your current time clock data onto the new computer that will function as the time clock server. If the time clock server is going to be installed on the same computer as the existing stand alone time clock, then there's no need to make a backup because the time clock server program will automatically find and prompt you to open your existing time clock database.

Time clock installation, setup, and upgrade guides can be found under the documentation resources on our Virtual TimeClock Support page.