Technical Support Blog

Electronic Timecard Approval

Electronic timecard approval allows hourly workers to approve their hours worked, salaried workers to approve their paid leave hours, and managers to approve timecards for hourly and salaried workers within their group. Approval is an indication of acceptance that the timecard accurately reflects all hours worked during the payroll period. Workers are responsible for reviewing and approving their own timecards. After worker approval, managers can review and approve timecards for workers within their group. Managers can make edits to the timecard after the worker has approved it, but the original approval will be removed so the worker will have to approve the timecard again. Each approval and removal of approval is recorded in the audit logs. Approval is simply a way to document that the timecard has been reviewed. Hours will not be processed until payroll staff has completed a final review and signed off.

Electronic approval is enabled in Configure Payroll Settings.



Worker Timecard Approval
When electronic timecard approval has been enabled for hourly workers, the default user timecard report will contain an approval header that allows users to electronically approve their timecard. The user can remove approval by viewing their timecard and clicking Remove Approval. Approval is automatically removed if any of the timecard entries are edited, deleted, or new entries are added for the payroll period. Salaried workers have the option to approve their paid leave time for the payroll period.



Manager Timecard Approval
When electronic timecard approval has been enabled for managers, the Payroll Approval dashboard will contain the option for managers to approve timecards for workers within their group. Managers can approve all timecards in the group at once by clicking Approval or individually by clicking each worker name. All timecards that have been approved by the appropriate user will have a green checkmark. All timecards that have been approved by a manager will also have a green checkmark. Both user and manager approvals are automatically removed if any of the timecard entries are edited, deleted, or new entries are added for the payroll period. Click Payroll Approval from the administration toolbar to open the Payroll Approval dashboard.